Pledge

At Starbucks. Hottie across room finally noticed my lack of panties. Alley, car, or bathroom? -2 more purity points off list! #pledge3D2011

* * *

This week’s assignment will require the fewest number of words ever: we want you to write a story – your choice of topic – as a tweet.

That’s right. One hundred and forty characters. Not words. Characters.

 

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Writing Prompt and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Pledge

  1. Galit Breen says:

    Nicely played.

    XO

  2. Frelle says:

    provocative AND believable. A great story 🙂

  3. LOVE the use of the hashtag and how this actually reads like a real tweet, instead of just a story condensed down. I DO want more!

  4. Elaine says:

    Okay, you put a hashtag on yours – that’s awesome!!!

    #WishIWouldHaveThoughtOfThat

    • I asked Cheryl if it should be in “tweet style” and she said yes, since the spaces counted too.

      First prompt I’ve ever written using tweetdeck, not word or other writing program. Only way to count characters…

      I have about three more written, using more hashtags, but decided on new character, not old.

      Irony in comment longer than post?

  5. May says:

    Clearly you are far better versed on tweeting than I! This has such sass!

  6. Yay! I can’t wait to see hashtag usage and you didn’t disappoint!

  7. Oh, naughty girl! Rebellion! Love it!

  8. Erin says:

    You go Girl! This was awesome, hashtag and all! Well done!

  9. First time commenting here, and I have to say, you got my attention!!!

    This writing meme is just awesome!

  10. Sweaty says:

    … And then…

    Hoping you’ll tell 😉

    Sizzling response to the prompt! I need ice here!

  11. Amy says:

    You delightful whore! 😉 Hashtag was a nice touch!

  12. Nancy C says:

    Yes on the hashtag. Yes on the anti-purity pledge. This could be the first sentence of a real time-sucking short story of novel. Fun!

  13. angela says:

    I’ll never look at a Starbucks cup the same way again…

  14. Kir says:

    Oh the naughty girl in me really liked this. Bathroom, stall closed..;)

    Loved it!

  15. Victoria KP says:

    Gracious how naughty ;-). Well done!

  16. This was awesome! The whole Hashtag thing is still foreign to me, I forget about it all the time. Nice addition. I wonder how many link-ups this Hashtag would actually get? LOL.

  17. Ratz says:

    Bravo! Bravo! Bravo!

  18. #Genius And how do I get in on this game 😉

  19. Melanie says:

    Wow. So naughty in such an efficient way! Nicely done.

    Visiting from WOE.

  20. Nichole says:

    Nice job!
    Naughty, yet efficient. 😉
    Great hashtag use!

  21. Mama Zen says:

    That’s hilarious!

  22. CDG says:

    I laughed out loud. And then I wanted to shake her. Not bad for 140! 😉

  23. Carrie says:

    LOL, love it. It’s actually a tweet you could find ON twitter…I bet the sorority houses would follow you if you posted it there 😉

  24. Random Girl says:

    This is my kind of story, and girl! So naughty and spontaneous. Well done!

  25. Lauren says:

    LOL! 140 character erotica. Love it!

  26. Renee says:

    I love this! So very tongue in cheeky. Good job!

  27. Rai says:

    Looooooooooved it!!! Reminds me of my college experience. ❤

  28. Andrea says:

    GASP! Sneaky way of drawing us all in. 🙂 I liked it a lot!

  29. naughty.. but nice. I can and does happen I’m sure.

  30. Truly a story in a tweet & a hot one at that! :>

    I get too distracted trying to write microfiction on Twitter or Tweetdeck with all that chattin’ going on, so I use http://www.design215.com/toolbox/character_count.php to count the number of characters. Just thought I’d share, in case you need it again! :>

  31. Mrs. Jen B says:

    A HASHTAG! Genius!!!! I absolutely love it. So fun!

  32. Paulette says:

    It actually looks like a tweet! #Brilliant

  33. Jenny says:

    LOVE that you wrote a tweet from the character’s perspective, and it told the whole story, too. Nicely played. I also love the hashtag use…

  34. Mandyland says:

    Friggin’ awesome.

  35. L. says:

    I love this. Believable, with the incorporation of a popular internet meme. Well done.

  36. In the alley, up against the wall.

    Love this!

  37. SO racy! I LIKE it!! At a Starbucks nonetheless! I will never look at the patrons the same way!! 😉

  38. laura says:

    This would be an awesome short story. I’m definitely left wanting more.

  39. Tracy says:

    Hashtag! Love this. I scored higher (more “pure”) on a purity test than a super religious girl on my hall my first year in college. I was so annoyed I was so “pure,” she was visibly annoyed she wasn’t the most pure. So I find this particularly amusing.

  40. Leighann says:

    you certainly have a knack for writing sexy!!

  41. Whoa. Controversial – love it.

  42. So naughty! Loved it!

Comments are closed.