The Offer You Cannot Refuse

For this week’s Red Writing Hood prompt, we’re inviting you to truly scare us.

Here’s what you’ll need to do:

Compose a post in the form of a text160 characters.

Your text must elicit or express fear. 

* * *

From Anonymous, 6/20/11 at 6:13 PM.

Your BFF lost someone. We can help her find him if you bring John to 133 E. Elm St, west of DT in next 2 hours. Do not say why or be late or our offer expires.

* * *

A little taste from Mav’s (and John’s) future….

Concrit and comments are always welcomed.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Mav and John, WIP, Writing Prompt and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Offer You Cannot Refuse

  1. Sweaty says:

    Oh the sense of doom!!

  2. Amanda says:

    I would be so torn!

  3. Kir says:

    wow Kel, that was scary, I could almost see her swallow reading it and turn white. It definately made me AFRAID!!!

    great job (as usual) 🙂

  4. Galit Breen says:

    Love the push to the story!

  5. skoteinia says:

    I’d be there, but I’d try and bring back up…

  6. angela says:

    What she SHOULD do is tell him, because John is a serious badass. I can’t wait to see what she DOES do, because I’m sure there will be a twist 🙂

  7. Is John the BFF? If so, it’s a little confusing. If not, it’s super creepy to have to trade one person for another and I like it!

  8. Carrie says:

    damn, what has John gotten Mav messed up in?

  9. Jackie says:

    First of all I am glad to see you back!
    Second…. awesome. I love the little teaser that this is!

  10. I’m very worried for this person. Well done! I want to know more.

  11. John says:

    This makes me want to look back through the previous Mav & John posts . . .

  12. CDG says:

    And the stakes are raised yet again!

  13. Venus says:

    I *love* the coldness of “or our offer expires” – that’s what made it truly scary for me. Great job!

  14. Renee says:

    Oh this is a perfect piece of Mav and John. I love it. It fits so well.

  15. All I can say is I do not want to go there…. but for my BFF I would do just about anything!

  16. julie Moore says:

    ‘or our offer expires” great line and creates a real interest in the rest of the story.

Comments are closed.