I Was Not Good Enough

Nerves jumped in my stomach, springing off the walls into intricate flips.

I squashed the doubt threatening to take over as cyber silence stretched, holding its breath for the awaited email.

I threw myself into final revisions for another piece, a fictional one, the contest deadline looming at midnight. I rode the butterflies, siphoning their energy – my joy in writing growing with each passing minute.

It was a good piece. A great one. If I just make it to auditions, I will know I’m doing the right thing.

I will be a writer.

A flash caught my eye, a pop-up in the lower right corner of my screen, the subject clear: Listen to Your Mother submission.

Anxiety seized me, wrapped in terror.

What if…

My hands trembled as I clicked on the email.

“It was such a pleasure to read your wonderful essay. We both really appreciated the sentiments in your story. Unfortunately, however, we did not select your piece for LTYM this year.”

Doubt chased away the hope, the fleeting confidence bludgeoned by my inner critic.

Brutal. Vicious.

I looked at my fictional piece, so close to submission.

What am I doing? Why did I ever think I had a shot? My husband is right: I don’t have a chance in hell of being an author.

I still hit submit, but only because I’d already paid for the entry.

The anticipation and hope, the thrill of possible success as I clicked on “send”?

Vanished.

A dear friend tried to console me, going so far as to say, “Don’t compare your beginning to someone else’s middle or end.”

It turned the volume down on the voice, though the berating words still rang clear.

The relief was short, as less than a week passed and I joined our local bloggers in our monthly gathering.

I listened, as one by one, each shared they had been selected for the audition round.

They were good enough.

I pasted a smile on my face and nodded, happy for them while a part of me withered, dying inside.

One truth sharpened, crisp in my mind: I was not good enough.

* * *

When we look around, mentally judging ourselves against better writers, faster runners, and people better at us at our passions, it can be difficult to measure our successes against our own goals.

Jon Acuff recently urged a room of writers, photographers, and entreupreneurs:“Don’t compare your beginning to someone else’s middle.”

This week we’d like you to write about a time you found yourself comparing yourself, unfavorably, with someone else.  Focus on how the comparison affected you, negatively or positively.

Come back Tuesday to link up and share your work.  Word limit is 400 words.

***

Also linked with:

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Nonfiction, Writing Prompt and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to I Was Not Good Enough

  1. frelle says:

    First, I love you. *HUG* I love the power in your words and the emotional intensity and vivid atmosphere you write. I can still see Mav on the back of that motorcycle. I can still see the scene in The Shot when John apologizes to Mav. I still remember the post about the glowing green light that turns out to be friends on the internet. Your writing stays with me.

    You are a writer. You are good enough. I can’t imagine the soulcrushing pain of being in present in that group of bloggers and hearing those words after you’d already received your acknowledgment. I would have had a very hard time coping with any degree of grace before running away in tears, overcome with shame and humiliation. But that’s me, and how I would react.

    I love you, and your heart, and I wish I could hug you. thank you for opening up a vein and writing bravely about how you feel.

    • How is it possible to truly be happy for your friends, who write such powerful words, while a part of you cries?

      I was quiet that night whenever the topic came up in the group. I couldn’t bring myself to say, “I submitted to, I just didn’t make the audition cut.” It was still too raw.

      The problem is I told myself I had a chance – Austin is a small city compared to some of the other locations for Listen to Your Mother. It should increase my odds, right?

      They said it had nothing to do with my writing – to which my mind screamed it had everything to do with it. If my words were powerful enough, surely they’d want a chance to hear me speak them, right?

      In a way, I am blessed – because my life is blessed. I have no tales of extreme heartbreak or obstacles. My children are healthy.

      Others can write memoirs of the most mundane task and have it sing. I cannot.

      But I’m still going to try. Maybe some day, I will.

      Thank you for your words – they mean so much. My fiction may stand a chance.

      • Amy Keeley says:

        First, your writing is not you. You are good enough, if for no other reason that you’re willing to learn and keep trying.

        Second, there’s a lot of reasons someone may decide not to use your story and a number of them have nothing to do with your writing. I know that doesn’t make a rejection feel any better, but editors who take time to tell you it wasn’t your writing I’m sure are telling you the truth.

        One of my first rejections, a form with checkboxes, specifically said it was the writing that killed my submission. I kept going and by the time I stopped submitting to editors, I was getting personalized rejections with very positive comments about my writing. That’s a huge step forward.

        My point is that it doesn’t matter if your writing sucks or not. What matters is if you love it, and love it enough to keep trying and learning. If you do, success will eventually come to you, in whatever form you desire.

        One last thing, if your writing group is a good one, talk about your rejection. Not only will it help you, it will help them as well.

        Glad to hear you’re not giving up. Keep moving forward!

  2. I love you.
    You are amazing.
    ANd at least YOU were brave enough to submit, because I was not. And maybe never will be.

    And because of you, and reading this post? I’m about to hit publish on something that’s making me terribly afraid. But it’s not even for a contest, just for my piddly blog.

    So thank you for sharing. I’m going to try and do this link up tomorrow, as I have similar feelings. But you’ve managed to express yours so well…that I’m intimidated. I’ve been out of the WOE loop for so long. OUt of the real writing loop for so long, even.

    You are enough.
    You are incredible.
    You are one of the ones I aspire to be like.

    LOVE.

    • I often feel fear before hitting publish – even on my piddly blog. Especially on my blog. The only consolation on my blog compared to contests is I cannot edit anything once I hit submit for a contest.

      I have also been out of the “real writing” loop for a while, with a rare toe-dip into its waters. Perhaps I lost an edge while I was gone, I don’t know.

      I do know I want it back.

      I am beaten, it is true, but I am a survivor. And stubborn. Very stubborn. As long as few trusted souls tell me my words speak to them, enthrall them, or entertain them, I am unlikely to throw in the towel.

      There just may be tears involved when the bludgeoning of reality is active.

      A lot of tears.

      I sobbed writing this, I admit it – reopening the wound of doubt and failure as I wrote.

      Please link up and share – because I have always enjoyed your words.

      I have been enthralled by them.

      The power is in you – it just might need a quick dust off.

      No better time than the present.

  3. Ashley says:

    You’re amazing. Keep on writing! 🙂

  4. angela says:

    I think you’ve found the crux of why it’s so difficult to put our writing out there, that fear of having it rejected. And it feels like rejection, no matter how the words are cushioned or the reason for the non-selection.

    I am so proud of you for putting your words out there. They are heard here, where they affect so many people. And one day that e-mail will have the opposite answer.

  5. Tomekha says:

    *tears* *hugs real tightly*

    But you ARE good enough. No matter what anyone else says, or who gets chosen over you. …You ARE such a beautiful writer.

  6. Stacey says:

    Geeze. I have been there so many times, not being good enough. The rejection letters suck. I think the hardest part of pursuing writing is dealing with all that rejection. You wrote this beautifully and I was right there with you during the whole thing.

  7. I never won any contests and I now have 2 #1 best-selling books and the top agent in the world. Contests are not a judge of whether you are a “real” writer. Do you write? Then you are a writer. You know what an “aspiring writer” is? That is the person who says, “Oh, yeah, I’ve had an interesting life and one day I’ll write a book.” Writers WRITE. You are a writer.

    Despite what the world believes there is a learning curve even in this business. We write and the more we write the better we get until one day success follows after a crap load of hard work.

    I feel your pain, but let it go and sally forth and write, write again. Contests are not a great judge of talent. Trust me. I hope you will visit my blog and will plug into MyWANA community (WANA stands for WE ARE NOT ALONE). This business is tough because outsiders envy us, but they don’t understand us. We can be the family you need while you are growing.

    Cry, eat some chocolate then get back to work, and PLEASE connect with us.

    • Donna Newton says:

      Kristen is totally right! I’m currently writing my novel. Two agents have read the first couple of chapters and want the full when its finished. Out of curiosity I entered the same chapters into a contest – and didn’t even pass the first round!

      As Kristen says, contests are great but in no way a judge for your writing. You need to shrug it off and get back to your novel. Don’t ever think of yourself as a failure or you will fail. Everyday we ‘learn’. That is the silver lining you need to look for. At the end of the day, sit back and think, “I wrote 2k words today,” or, “I sure edited the crap out of that scene today.” Always look for the positive.

      Stephen King is a massive author…..but not everyone likes his stories. Have you read ‘On Writing’? If not, then you must. Read how many rejections he got. That will make you feel better 🙂

      Chin up and soldier on, girlie. xxxx

  8. You are so good enough. And you are doing a service to other writers in posting this. Because we’ve all been there. Hugs from Canada.

  9. jdp says:

    I don’t even know how to make you feel better. I can only imagine how you are feeling. You see…I’m not brave enough to even hit “submit” 🙂 So I think you’re freakin awesome!

  10. I clicked through from a tweet by Kristen Lamb on Twitter. This is the first time I’ve been to your blog, and so I feel a bit like an objective observer taking a peek into someone’s private pain. I also hesitated to put in my two cents because you don’t know me and have no reason to take my words to heart. But I’ve been there, broken by the feeling that I wasn’t good enough, and so I hope you won’t mind me sharing my thoughts.

    Contests have a very subjective component to them. It really might not have been about your writing at all. Think of all the bestselling books that multiple agents turned down before finding the one that book resonated with. Did that mean the writing wasn’t good enough, or merely that the earlier agents weren’t the right fit? I once had a short story turned down by five magazines before selling it to an editor who absolutely loved it. The story was good enough. It just needed to find the right home.

    As writers, timing is also that indefinable quality that we have no control over. Sometimes we’ll work for months or years, and then suddenly, due to nothing we can explain, everything falls into place. Because the timing was finally right.

    And even if maybe you’re not at the place where you’re able to stand beside those who won/were selected, that doesn’t mean you won’t get there. If you ask successful authors how they got to where they are, most of them won’t tell you it was about talent or about being innately a better writer. Most of them will tell you they got to where they are because they refused to give up.

    Hang in there 🙂

    • Must echo the “subjective” thing…I helped read for a contest last fall, to help the sponsor cull through the hundreds of entries. I was supposed to choose 3. I knew my #1 and #2, but that 3 and 4 were tough. One of them had to go, and I couldn’t decide which. Finally I had to just pick which one I liked better, even though in terms of style and mechanics they were both equal. So…TOTALLY subjective. Tis the business.

  11. D.B. Smyth says:

    I think one of the hardest things to do as a writer is to separate myself from my work. But they really are two different things. YOU–as a person, as a writer–are intrinsically valuable and of worth. YOU are enough. As-is. Your work is different than you are and its worth completely subjective. What one may read and say, “Nope. I don’t like it.” Another can read and say, “Best essay ever!”

    Either way, it doesn’t change that YOU HAVE WORTH. You are good enough. “I was not good enough” is the lie our inner-hater wants us to believe.

    Anyway, lots of hugs and love. It hurts, I know. I get rejected all the time. But don’t let that rejection make you believe that you aren’t good enough.

  12. emaginette says:

    Doubt drives art. If we are too confident or too arrogant, we fail before we begin.

    Trust yourself, because no one, absolutely no one can write like you do. It is your gift.

  13. Liv Rancourt says:

    I was asked to sing with a choir once, for a summer concert, and I really wanted to sing with them all the time, but at the last rehearsal, the director passed out music for the fall concert to everyone…except me. I feel your pain. Please don’t let one event take away from all that you’re trying to create.

  14. Two words: Stephen King. I took a class on King’s writing while I was in college and had the unique of hearing him speak about his early years – during which he literally wallpapered the wall of his little apartment with rejection slips. If you haven’t read his On Writing, you should. For people in the throes of self-doubt, he’ll slap you back into reality. There will be rejections. Maybe lots of them. But you can’t win if you don’t play.

  15. LJCohen says:

    So much of being a writer is matching your work to the right audience. As a writer who has been submitting and dealing with ‘nope, not right for me’ for 8 years, I can tell you, rejection stinks. And it doesn’t get any better or any easier even after obtaining an amazing agent who believes in my work. It just fuels my desire to keep working. In the end, the most important reader to please is yourself. Keep writing, keep risking, and you will find the ones who resonate with your work.

  16. I entered a contest and when I read the winner, I realized I would never win that contest. It helped but I wondered if there was a contest I could win.
    Sometimes I think all of writing is a contest. Mostly against myself.

  17. Believe it… you ARE on the RIGHT TRACK! It’s a long track, that’s true enough, but you are definitely on it.

    Keep it up. You will find a way.

  18. Andrew Kincaid says:

    When I start feeling down on myself, I remember back to middle school, when I started lifting weights. I felt fat and inadequate because I wasn’t the strongest kid in the school – no where near that. I’ve never been in shape, and when I started working out I imagined I’d be pumping huge weights and that I’d have rippling muscles in no time. It didn’t quite work out that way, and I felt pretty bad about myself.

    Then I read “Bodybuilding for Men” by Arnold Schwarzenegger, and it was an eye opener, let me tell ya. In one section, he said that if he is lifting 100lbs, and I’m lifting 10lbs, and both of us are performing our maximal effort, relatively speaking we’re lifting the same amount of weight. In other words, you aren’t competing against others in the weight room (or, in your case, in the writing world), you’re competing against yourself. As long as you’re always improving and giving your best effort, even if you are rejected, you’re plenty good enough :).

  19. vicki batman says:

    Oh boy. Early on in my writing career, I entered contests for feedback. One judge had scribbled “why are you writing?” It hurt. It stung. It made me cry.

    I told friends and they consoled me. I didn’t write for two days. Then, something in my head went “don’t let that person define you.” I went back and worked and worked. And am far happier for it.

    Work hard. Don’t let anyone define you. The result will be worth it. 🙂

  20. Piper Bayard says:

    I always say that everything I need to know about writing I learned from dancing. That’s why I don’t enter contests.

    As a professional belly dance performer and teacher, I was constantly competing with other dancers. Always comparing myself to the people around me, and, as the Desiderata so wisely observes, when we do that, we always find greater and lesser persons than ourselves.

    I competed for slots in shows, night club gigs, students, admiring glances, etc. At the same time, I was constantly back-biting while publicly making nice, hiding my jealousies, because I never knew who would be the next person to produce a show that I might want to be in.

    I realized one night, as I was driving into town to perform in a show, that I hated what I was doing. Don’t get me wrong. I loved to dance. I still do. But it wasn’t about the dance anymore. The competition and constant backbiting brought out the worst in me. It had me continually finding fault with myself and with others. I had become someone I didn’t like and didn’t want to be. I immediately withdrew from the performance scene and focused on dancing WITH people rather than FOR them.

    That’s when my dance became what it was supposed to be. An expression of joy. A giving rather than a calculated taking. A sharing of my love for the art rather than a struggle for recognition. I danced for the delight on my children’s faces and realized that dancing for dancers and dancing for an audience are two very different animals.

    I know the backbiting and competitions continue, but now, I only hang out with the other dancers who have found the key. Contentment with our own work. And those dancers I call friends now – the ones who focus on their dance rather than the “competition” – are the world class dancers.

    Writing is the same. My friend, Vicki Hinze, said it best the other day. She said the quality that she and those of her best selling ilk share is contentment with their work. Contentment with how they spend their time.

    So I ask you, “Good enough for who?” Accept where you are in your journey, and let it be. Focus on doing what you love every day, and be “good enough” for you. The rest will follow.

    All the best to you.

  21. I’ve learned to take contest results with a grain of salt. Too much depends on the outlook of the judge(s) at that moment in time, that even things as personal as your themes can get you out of the running.

    Keep writing, it’s what being a writer is all about!

  22. Jen J. Danna says:

    Like Marcy, I found your site when Kristen Lamb tweeted your link, and I’m glad that she did. You’ve expressed what a lot of us are feeling, even those of us that are already successful. Most of us are always trying to learn and improve and as we learn new things, we look back and think ‘I’m not very good if I’m still learning’, but it’s a natural part of the curve. Contests are just as subjective as querying and submissions. Remember that J.K. Rowling was rejected a bunch of times. This is a subjective business and those running the contest don’t necessarily have a corner on the writing market, so don’t let their decisions crush your goals.

    This in particular caught me: My husband is right: I don’t have a chance in hell of being an author. I’ve got one of those too (although some days he’s better than others). DON’T LISTEN TO HIM. In some ways, I wonder if they’re jealous of a) our time spent writing and b) our drive to suceed when they don’t have that kind of passion. Either way, don’t lose sight of your dreams. They’re right there, and you’ve almost reached them. Persistence pays off, so keep at it. *hugs*

  23. We ALL doubt ourselves and our abilities at one time or another. It just means we are growing and advancing as a person and in our craft. When I was studying martial arts there were times when I was *sure* I was getting worse, but I kept going anyway. And low and behold, eventually I’d push through that phase and have a major breakthrough with my skills. I came to see that the doubt phase was part of the process of getting better at the craft. We can always improve. That’s what makes writing great. You’ve got the chops if you’ve made it this far. Keep going and you will be amazed at what you can do. I got a black belt in tae kwon do. Me, an uncoordinated, previously unathletic person.
    I love this quote because it’s so true: “The difference between an unpublished author and a published author, is that the published author didn’t give up.” We’re cheering for you!

  24. Kelly, I am so happy to have read your post today! I found you because of Kristen Lamb. Please don’t judge yourself because of a single critique. A contest may be a bias way of judging your writing. You are a very brave woman to have put your feelings out there. Just know that they are in safe keeping. And what a beautiful prose they were written in. Does it help to know that every time I post on my blog I cringe. It scares me to death, yet I keep pushing myself. Will I ever get over this feeling. I don’t know. I hope so. And it is my hope that you will not give up. Please come join us over at #MYWANA. It is a warm, caring community of writers who really care about you. But whatever you do, keep writing girl, because your passion shines through! Take care! 🙂

  25. HUGS!
    Your post resonated with me so deeply. When I sit down to write, I question myself and fear I am “not good enough” all the time. But then I ask myself “not good enough by who?” I write for the love of writing, for the joy, because it’s what I want to do. Maybe I’ll be successful. Maybe I won’t. Maybe I am good. Maybe I am not. But do those details really matter when you are doing what you love simply for the joy of it.
    Remember, you are a WRITER because that’s what feeds your soul, it’s what drives your passion and gives you a sense of purpose. That means YOU ARE GOOD ENOUGH no matter if you win a contest or sell a single book. Period.
    Writing for the love of writing is SUCCESS!
    Here’s to always remembering that…HUGS!!!!!!!

  26. Elena Aitken says:

    We’ve all been there. It sucks. It hurts. Feel the hurt. THEN…write something else. And something after that.
    You’re an amazing writer. I’ve had the pleasure to read your work, and if you quit, you’ll regret it. I don’t think you will quit though… 🙂

    Turn your hurt and your disappointment into determination girl. Write on!
    And hugs from North of the border.

  27. First, can I please slap whoever it was who told you you’d never be an author? I have news for you…you already are! You wrote these words. They are powerful words. They brought tears to the eyes of every single person who read them, I promise you that. What more can you ask for?

    Second, you ARE good enough. Maybe they already had an essay exactly like yours. Maybe the person doing the picking had one too many margaritas that day. I’ve judged contests…I know what goes on. What made me pick one thing over another? Sometimes, honestly, the mood I was in. That’s all. Nothing to do with you or your writing.

    Third, they told Rowling she’d never sell. They told Stephen King he wasn’t good enough. These little contest? They are just a way to hone your skills and pass the time while you work on becoming the writer you are meant to be. They are no reflection on YOU, the person, at all.

    I have yet to submit any writing to any contest. So you’re a lot further down the road than I am! So many don’t even have the courage to try. You did. Now have a piece of chocolate, pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and go write something else! 🙂

    {{HUGS}}

  28. (HUGS)We all go through situations where we feel like we are not as good at something as other people are. To move on and get better, it is always a good idea to ask them how they got good at what they do and to copy those actions. Remember too that, with some very rare exceptions, no one is an expert from the beginning.

  29. Rebecca says:

    As writers we are our own worst critics and when one of our submissions is not accepted, somehow that solidifies our own, “i told you so.” Yet, nothing could be further from the truth. I took a creative English course one time with a published poet who had written many books and had many awards under her belt. When she sensed my hesitation at the thought of submitting my work she simply told me I was ready and sent me an email with links to pages where my work could be submitted. But she also added this a great piece of advice and that was that I should not be deterred from pursuing my passion by someone’s rejection letter. She says the market, unfortunately, takes little gamble on unknown writers; they’re always waiting for another to make the first move. So, in the end, it’s not so much because of our work, but our anonymity. She added she had lost count of the times she was rejected and then finally came that one magazine that confirmed her worth as a writer and the rest is history. So don’t give up.

  30. CDG says:

    That’s a hard moment, being happy for friends while you feel somehow you’re lacking.

    Rest assured, your moment is coming. And even putting your work out there means you are doing, not trying. You are putting your work out into the world, which is so incredibly brave.

  31. K. Lyn Wurth says:

    Kelly, I, too followed Kristen Lamb to find you here. You don’t know me but here is what I’ve learned about being a writer: You decide whether or not you are a writer. You may win or lose contests and contracts, where someone else decides who wins…but you decide about being a writer, doing the work and earning the rewards. I wasted years of my writing life because I let others discourage me. But I love to write, so I’m back at it for good. I love who I become as I write, even though most of the people in my day-to-day life don’t understand what I do or why. So if you want it, go after it with all you have. Get tough. It’s going to knock you down now and then. Just get up again and write. I you want it badly enough, nobody can take it away. So sit down and write yourself back into love…

  32. Cindy says:

    Hi Kelly! Thank you for the vulnerability of this post and for your honesty. It’s scary to be so raw and naked. As a writer, our words are our soul revealed. We can’t get be more exposed.

    I understand the letdown, the disappointment, the self-doubt, the fear. It’s real and while you’re going through it, it hurts and it’s hard. But have faith and know 1) that you ARE good enough and 2) you have helped SO MANY of us by sharing your experience in this post. I’m a firm believer that the hard times and the “failures” create the steps to our success. While it sucks in the moment, it’s an important part of the journey to self-discovery.

    I find that with every project I work on there’s a moment at some point where the “gremlins” of self-doubt and negativity creep into my internal dialogue. They start asking the questions, “who do you think you are to do this?” and “why do you think you are worthy of this?” and “how can you possibly think that you’re creative or talented?” And saying things like, “everyone’s going to hate what you wrote,” and “after people read this they’ll finally know that you’ve been living a lie, you aren’t creative.”

    Don’t let the gremlins of self-doubt get the better of you. You are talented, you are creative, you are good enough. Keep on writing!

  33. Trish says:

    Great post, Kelly. It’s full of amazing emotion and I know you’re a strong person and a fantastic writer (this post is proof of that!). Thank you for sharing your pain with us. It helps all of us remember that we’re not alone, even when it seems most like we are. We just need to reach out. Keep writing!

  34. Ducky says:

    Everyone has to start somewhere, right? And just imagine HOW MANY people wanted to but never did submit anything. You can proudly say you did…with no regrets…they haven’t even begun the race and you took the first step! Super awesome!!

    I’d be willing to bet that being “good enough” really wasn’t what it was about! They may have loved it…just didn’t fit this round of criteria.

    (and I really hope your husband didn’t tell you you’d never be an author. Just part of the story right? Cause its not like you write as though you’re 6)

  35. Shell says:

    Oh,girl.

    Don’t beat yourself up.

    With things like this, where only x # of people can be chosen, I don’t think it’s a matter of being not good enough, but just being different than what they were looking for. That shouldn’t take anything away from you. xo

  36. Kristin Shaw says:

    Kelly, this was a fantastic post. I felt many of the same emotions, and I wondered if I was even good enough to keep blogging! For me, when I really looked at my essay, I knew that I could do better. I will do better. And I’m learning.
    You are a great writer and I’m enjoying both following you and getting to know you!

  37. Jackie says:

    First of all… you are good enough! And your husband is wrong… you do have a chance at being an author! As a matter of fact you could say that you are one right now because every time you hit that publish button on a post you are an author and we are your readers and you know what… we love what you have to say.
    You’re good at writing do don’t give up your dream of being an author!

  38. Lori Dyan says:

    That sucks, Kelly. The Restless Writers are with you in spirit, because our meetings are often focused on the agent/writing competition we didn’t land. It’s a brutal part of being a writer (which, FYI, you are) and after having a timed pity parry (I give myself a day to a week, depending on the size of the disappointment) you have to let. it. go. As for your husband, perhaps mention to him that he has no chance in hell of ever becoming a porn star 😉

  39. O’ My, most of us can identify w/ this post.

    “We regret to inform you.”

    SHUT the hell UP!

    —But seriously, it does hurt a little, right? You sort of feel like a Big Fat LOSER!

    Even so, I have ALWAYS considered myself a “writer.”

    Always. What else could I be? I could not breathe without writing. I could not live.

    How about you?

    I Despise this sentence from your post: “My husband is right, I don’t have a chance in hell of being an author.”

    Are you still with this dude!!!????

    If so, he needs an ass kickin’

    Xxxx Keep Writing, Ms. Writer!!

Comments are closed.